Category: 1997


Sacramento, CA

Soundcheck: Funky Bitch (one and a half times), Jam, The Fog That Surrounds

SET 1: Wolfman’s Brother, Rift > Free, It’s Ice > I Didn’t Know[1], The Fog That Surrounds[2], Strange Design, Chalk Dust Torture, The Squirming Coil

SET 2: Cars Trucks Buses[2], AC/DC Bag, David Bowie, Billy Breathes[2], Keyboard Army[2], Harry Hood[3], Hello My Baby[4], A Day in the Life

ENCORE: Possum

[1] Fish on trombone.
[2] Debut.
[3] Unfinished.
[4] Phish debut.

This tour opener brought the first performances of The Fog That Surrounds, Cars Trucks Buses, Billy Breathes, Keyboard Army, and the Phish debut of Hello My Baby (which was dedicated to Pete Schall). I Didn’t Know featured Fish on trombone. Trey teased Slipknot! in David Bowie. Harry Hood was unfinished. Possum contained Johnny B. Goode teases from Trey.


2/28/1997 – HUXLEY’S NEUE WELT

Berlin, Germany

SET 1: Carini, Paul and Silas > My Soul, Cars Trucks Buses, Peaches en Regalia > Stash, Swept Away > Steep > Ya Mar, Character Zero

SET 2: Taste, Drowned -> Prince Caspian > Frankenstein > David Bowie, Love Me, Axilla > Waste > Julius

ENCORE: A Day in the Life

This show included the first Paul and Silas since October 24, 1995 (120 shows).


2/26/1997 – LONGHORN

Stuttgart, Germany

SET 1: Camel Walk, Llama, My Friend, My Friend, Harry Hood > My Soul > Tube > Carini, Rock A William, Dog Log, While My Guitar Gently Weeps

SET 2: Buried Alive > Poor Heart > Ha Ha Ha[1] > You Enjoy Myself -> Kung -> Theme From the Bottom > Scent of a Mule > Jam -> Magilla > Scent of a Mule, Slave to the Traffic Light

ENCORE: Highway to Hell

[1] Heavy metal outro.

This show featured the first Camel Walk since July 2, 1995 (140 shows) and first Magilla since May 4, 1994 (260 shows). Ha Ha Ha was notable for the heavy metal jam outro. YEM included Super Bad teases. The jazz jam in the Mule Duel included an ‘A’ Train tease from Mike.


2/25/1997 – INCOGNITO

Munich, Germany

SET 1: Runaway Jim > My Soul, One Meatball[1], Little Red Rooster[1], Got My Mojo Working[1], Stash, Waste > Taste, Loving Cup

SET 2: Beauty of My Dreams > Sample in a Jar > Punch You in the Eye > Free, Fee[2] -> My Friend, My Friend[3], Down with Disease > Prince Caspian, La Grange, Sweet Adeline

ENCORE: Chalk Dust Torture

[1] Phish debut; Sydney Ellis on vocals.
[2] Trey sang verses through megaphone.
[3] Aborted quickly and scrapped.

One Meatball through Mojo Workin’ were Phish debuts that featured Sydney Ellis on vocals. Trey sang the verses of Fee through a megaphone. My Friend was aborted quickly and scrapped.